Tried to break love to a science
In an act of pure defiance
I broke her heart
As I pulled apart her theory
As I watched her growing weary
I pulled her apart

Having heavy conversations
About the furthest constellations of our souls
We’re just trying to find some meaning
In the things that we believe in
But we got some ways to go
Of all of the things that she’s ever said
She goes and says something that just knocks me dead

You won’t find faith or hope down a telescope
You won’t find heart and soul in the stars
You can break everything down to the chemicals
But you can’t explain a love like ours

ooohhhh
It’s the way we feel, yeah this is real
ooohhhh
It’s the way we feel, yeah this is real

I tried pushing evolution
As the obvious conclusion of the start
But it was for my own amusement
Saying love was an illusion of a hopeless heart
Of all of the things that she’s ever said
She goes and says something that just knocks me dead

[Chorus]
Of all of the things that she’s ever said
She goes and says something that just knocks me dead

[Chorus]

The Script is an Irish rock band from Dublin. Their first debut album was released in August 2008. The members of this band are Danny O’Donoghue (Lead singer), Mark Sheehan (Lead Guitarist), Glen Power (Drummer). Over the years, they quickly became an international sensation. The Script opened for Paul McCartney and for U2, both bands praised The Script for their music. Currently, they have two released albums (The Script, Science and Faith).

 

In the song Science and Faith from the album of the same name, from what I can comprehend the mood of this song is heartache and that the author has just gotten out of a relationship and has still not gotten over it. He may have done or said something that has offended the girl and tore apart their relationship. I feel that he was being to logical in their relationship because at the start of the song he said: Tried to break love to a science, In an act of pure defiance, I broke her heart. As the song went on, I felt that they had different opinions about love that the girl could not take it any more and she exploded: She goes and says something that just knocks me dead, You won’t find faith or hope down a telescope, You won’t find heart and soul in the stars, You can break everything down to the chemicals, But you can’t explain a love like ours.

 

In my own interpretation, I can imagine that the two are in a room sitting opposite each other and they are quarreling over which has the correct idea of love. I say this because the lyrics were made up like a dialogue, which may also be counted in the Form of a poem. The verses are the arguments of the guy and the chorus is the counter argument of the girl, and this went on until one of them was torn apart. Thus leading to an ended relationship.

 

I felt that the band has encountered many different trials in life, and they want to share their experiences with others in the form of music. I was really moved by this song because the lyrics specifically the chorus are very powerful. The song also showed that everyone has a breaking point and if one reaches it there is no turning back.